My Collections

27 Nov


The person with the closed eyes is me, Tom Atkinson. I do consider myself both a box office nerd and movie nerd in general.  I love watching movies, going to the movies, and talking about movies. I feel like over the course of this blog I’ve explained my love for movies. I feel that I should now show you my love for movies by showing some movie items that are special to me.

Here is a ticket stub from the Steven Spielberg film I saw this weekend, Lincoln. Most people, once they get the ripped stub, throw it away. I do something different.

I collect them. In 2006 I had just seen Click, not a great movie but significant in my creation of the stub wall. After seeing the movie, I  put the  annoying to carry around ticket stub by  my window in my room.  After the ticket stub staying there awhile, the sun had degraded it. I found the look of the stub to be cool so I decided to just keep it.

At the time I wasn’t aware of the possible future sentimental reasons for keeping the stub. I realized that these stubs could have symbolic and sentimental meaning. These ticket stubs could become the equivalent of taking a picture. These ticket stubs could essentially freeze a moment in time: instead of it just being used to gain entrance into a theater, the stub could offer memories of an experience had while attending the movie.

I’ve seen a lot of movies including some I’m not proud of. If you can see, despite the bad picture quality, I have a Year One ticket stub. That was a horrendous movie that I saw with my brothers. When I went, the theater was packed and no one laughed except my brothers. Everyone began to stare at us because their laughing was distracting and shocking due to the terrible movie quality.

This a great example of me taking a memory along with me from just a ticket stub. In my opinion objects only gain importance when we give them a certain value. So it doesn’t matter what the object is–if it’s important to you, it’s valuable.

Not every ticket stub has a fun story, but it’s important that every movie I see I keep the stub. My thought process is that in the future I’ll likely forget seeing the more forgettable movies on the wall, but I still might take enjoyment out of remembering what the hell some of these movies were I went to see.

I’ve seen so many movies that I ended up running out of room and had to get another bulletin board. For some reason it’s only a half bulletin board and I’m going to need another bulletin board. If there’s anybody reading this who has a spare bulletin board, let me know.

This is my TV at home; it’s kind of hard to see, but there’s a blu ray player under my cable box. Next to my blu ray player are a pile of blu rays and DVDs. That leads me to my other collection of:

A lot of DVDs. My DVD collection contains different types of movies and TV shows. I used to always love buying a new movie, bringing it home and watching it once and then never watching the DVD again. Clearly watching a DVD only once after buying it at a store for $20 is a waste of money. That’s why my collection has failed to grow exponentially over the last year. I’ve slowly started to just watch a movie I want to see “on demand” instead of spending my money.However, if there’s a movie I feel I have to own and I will watch repeatedly, then I feel it’s worth joining my DVD collection.

I feel that I have shown you all my passion for movies with my collection of movie stubs and DVDs. I would like to hear now about anything of sentimental value that you collect.

9 Responses to “My Collections”

  1. blackjackofalltrades November 28, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    First – Netflix! It’s a cheap way to watch multiple movies once and not having to buy theme specially if they aren’t very good. I’m sure you know that already, but just throwing it out there!
    Second, I think this is your best post yet. I’m sure the majority of people like movies and enjoy going out now and then to see one in the theater. But you’re unique in the fact that you keep the stubs that most people would throw away. I definitely think this post relates to your blog as a whole. I wasn’t sure what you were going to do for the photo one, but it was a nice surprise. Good job!

    • Andrew November 28, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      Netflix is awesome. My brother has it and he shared his password with… way too many people. There hasn’t been any problems with it yet, but it is so funny to see the “recently viewed” page and try to figure out who is watching what.

      He gave it to so many people that we can’t figure out who has been watching marathon sessions of Curious George, Spongebob Squarepants, and Transformers. It’s a mystery!

  2. Andrew November 28, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Awesome post! I appreciate your blog in general, and the knowledge you easily convey about your subject, but this was really cool in a “getting to know you” kind of way. The pictures worked very well, those ticket stubs are definitely something you want to see visually rather than read about. I also like how you worked in some commentary on DVDs and how expensive physical copies of movies are becoming outmoded.

  3. rsances61 November 28, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    i really liked this post. The pictures worked well with the text and the story about you collecting ticket stubs was pretty cool and actually something i can kind of relate to since i used to do something similar with tickets from sporting events. i found your commentary on dvds interesting as well as i also find my self buying less and less dvds lately, prefering to use ondemand and netfilx as well. great post

  4. moose4188 November 28, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    I love the ticket board. I used to keep ticket stubs in a container as well, just got to be too manny (mostly from seeing the Lord of the Rings trilogy repeatedly). The pictures mesh well with the blog and showcase a love for movies as well. Do you think with the Hobbit opening in December, 2012 can break the record for gross in a year?

    • tatkinson8063 November 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      I think it will because there’s also django unchained and the music les miserables that is getting huge oscar talk.

  5. jdodd1650 November 28, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    I am also a huge fan of movies and cannot wait for the last few films of the year to finally be released. I think your collection of movie ticket stubs is a really cool way to showcase your love of movies, and ultimately tying in with the whole idea of your blog really well. I really like your outlook on why you decided to keep the ticket stubs. I thought your line at the end of the post worked really well to get your audience more involved. Nice work!

  6. chrislabella18 November 28, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I am also a person who loves movies and I liked the way that you showed all the ticket stubs tacked to the wall. I think it shows you are dead serious about the movies.

  7. Mark December 7, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Glad to see all the affirmative response from your peers! (It’s interesting that Alex found this to be your best post, or at least the post where she felt your voice was at its most unique.)
    Kudos on the very clean copy. Well done!

Leave a Reply

